## For Release after 7:00 p.m. Saturday, August 3, 2019

**CONTACT: Deborah Miner-Gonzales** 

Office: 405-528-7564 ext 1; deborah@meso.org

## Five Officials Selected for 2019 Induction into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials

Five officials representing a wide range of experiences will be inducted September 19 into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials. The black-tie optional hall of fame induction ceremony will be held in the <a href="International Ballroom of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tulsa Downtown">International Ballroom of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tulsa Downtown</a> in conjunction with the Annual Conference Banquet for the Oklahoma Municipal League.

They will become the 65th - 69th inductees into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame since 2001.

Those to be inducted this year were recently announced by the Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials Foundation, which is supported by eight organizations of Oklahoma municipal government officials or service organizations.

Those to be inducted on September 19 are:

- Pam Polk, City Manager, City of Collinsville
- Dan Galloway, Retired City Manager, Stillwater & El Reno
- · Gary Pruett, Retired General Manager, Municipal Utility Board, Pryor
- Jeff Shockley, former Mayor, Poteau
- · Michael Vanderburg, City Attorney, Ponca City

Formed in 1999, the Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials Foundation recognizes individuals for outstanding achievements or contributions to city and town government. To be selected, an honoree must make significant contributions to Oklahoma local government, through their positive spirit of public service, with unquestioned ethics.

The website <a href="www.okcityandtownofficials.org">www.okcityandtownofficials.org</a> highlights the careers of each inductee in the past 18 years. Visitors to the website are able to navigate through biographies, video and photo features about each inductee.

The Oklahoma Hall of Fame Foundation is supported by the Oklahoma Municipal League, The Mayors Council of Oklahoma, the City Management Association of Oklahoma, the Oklahoma Municipal Alliance (formerly MESO), the Oklahoma Municipal Assurance Group, the Oklahoma Municipal Retirement Fund, the Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority and the Oklahoma Municipal Clerks, Treasurers and Finance Officials Association.

The 64 past inductees based on their residence when inducted include:

Ada - Charles E. Spencer;

Bixby - Joe Williams:

Braman - Jerry Johnston;

Broken Arrow - James C. Reynolds;

Chickasha - Robert J. Hicks;

Clinton - Glendenne Goucher;

Duncan - Eugene Brown;

Edmond - Cindy Shattuck, Don Bown, Charles Lamb, William A. Moyer, Carl Reherman, Donald C.

Rider, Kevin McCullough and Drake Rice;

El Reno – Tony Rivera;

Frederick - Robert B. Johnston and Wanda Jo Evaige:

Guvmon – Jess Nelson:

Hobart – Thomas Talley;

Jenks - Randy Ewing;

Mannford - Michael Nunneley;

Midwest City - Tommy Melton;

Norman - Anthony M. Francisco, David Morgan, PhD, and Larry J. Shelton;

Oklahoma City - James Couch, James G. Hamill, Patience Sewell Latting, Leon E. Nelson, Gary Marrs,

Zach Taylor, Jr., Stephen E. Reel, Gerald Wilkins, Michael Crawford and Mick Cornett;

Perry - Mary Rupp;

Piedmont - George Fina;

Ponca City – Gary D. Martin, Homer Nicholson, Marilyn Kay Andrews and Craig Stephenson;

Prague – Harold Pumford;

Sand Springs – Mike Burdge;

Santa Fe, NM – Shane Woolbright;

Seminole - Edward Smith;

Shawnee - Mary Ann Karns, Terry Powell and Bertha Ann Young:

Stillwater - Ernest R. Dirks, Lawrence Lee Gish, and Lawrence O. Hansen;

The Village – Stanley Alexander;

Tonkawa - John Ramey:

Tulsa - Robert LaFortune, Susan Savage and David Weatherford;

Walters - Albert Veltema;

Watonga – Leroy Lage:

Weatherford - Tony Davenport, George Wilkinson and Mike Brown;

West Siloam Springs - Elaine Carr;

Woodward - Alan Riffel;

Tickets for the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and banquet are \$45 each available from the Oklahoma Municipal League by calling 405-528-7515 or by email to <a href="mailto:cathy@oml.org">cathy@oml.org</a>.

## For More Information:

Deborah Miner-Gonzales, Secretary
Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials Foundation
308 NE 27th Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
Phone 405-528-7564 ext. 1
deborah@meso.org