For Release after 7:00 p.m. Saturday, September 19, 2020

CONTACT: Deborah Miner-Gonzales Office: 405-528-7564 ext 1; deborah@okmainc.com

Three Officials Selected for 2020 Induction into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials

Three officials representing a wide range of experiences will be inducted October 26 into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials. The black-tie optional hall of fame induction ceremony will be at a location to be determined.

They will become the 70th – 72nd inductees into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame since 2001.

Those to be inducted this year were recently announced by the Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials Foundation, which is supported by eight organizations of Oklahoma municipal government officials or service organizations.

Those to be inducted on October 26 are:

- Mary Sue Overby, Retired, City of Sand Springs
- Bob Ponkilla, Retired, City of Oklahoma City
- Chuck Smith, Retired, City of Blackwell & Oklahoma Municipal Assurance Group (OMAG)

Formed in 1999, the Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials Foundation recognizes individuals for outstanding achievements or contributions to city and town government. To be selected, an honoree must make significant contributions to Oklahoma local government, through their positive spirit of public service, with unquestioned ethics.

The website <u>www.okcityandtownofficials.org</u> highlights the careers of each inductee in the past 19 years. Visitors to the website are able to navigate through biographies, video and photo features about each inductee.

The Oklahoma Hall of Fame Foundation is supported by the Oklahoma Municipal League, The Mayors Council of Oklahoma, the City Management Association of Oklahoma, the Oklahoma Municipal Alliance (formerly MESO), the Oklahoma Municipal Assurance Group, the Oklahoma Municipal Retirement Fund, the Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority and the Oklahoma Municipal Clerks, Treasurers and Finance Officials Association.

The 69 past inductees based on their residence when inducted include: Ada – Charles E. Spencer; Bixby – Joe Williams: Braman – Jerry Johnston; Broken Arrow – James C. Revnolds: Chickasha – Robert J. Hicks: Clinton – Glendenne Goucher: Collinsville – Pam Polk Duncan – Eugene Brown: Edmond - Cindy Shattuck, Don Bown, Charles Lamb, William A. Moyer, Carl Reherman, Donald C. Rider, Kevin McCullough and Drake Rice; El Reno - Tony Rivera; Frederick - Robert B. Johnston and Wanda Jo Evaige; Guymon – Jess Nelson; Hobart – Thomas Talley; Jenks – Randy Ewing; Mannford - Michael Nunneley; Midwest City - Tommy Melton; Norman – Anthony M. Francisco, David Morgan, PhD, and Larry J. Shelton;

Oklahoma City - James Couch, James G. Hamill, Patience Sewell Latting, Leon E. Nelson, Gary Marrs, Zach Taylor, Jr., Stephen E. Reel, Gerald Wilkins, Michael Crawford and Mick Cornett; Perry – Mary Rupp; Piedmont – George Fina; Ponca City - Gary D. Martin, Homer Nicholson, Marilyn Kay Andrews, Craig Stephenson and Michael Vanderburg; Poteau - Jeff Shockley; Prague – Harold Pumford; Pryor – Gary Pruett; Sand Springs - Mike Burdge; Santa Fe, NM - Shane Woolbright; Seminole - Edward Smith; Shawnee – Mary Ann Karns, Terry Powell and Bertha Ann Young; Stillwater - Ernest R. Dirks, Lawrence Lee Gish, Lawrence O. Hansen, Dan Galloway; The Village – Stanley Alexander; Tonkawa - John Ramey; Tulsa - Robert LaFortune, Susan Savage and David Weatherford; Walters - Albert Veltema; Watonga - Leroy Lage; Weatherford - Tony Davenport, George Wilkinson and Mike Brown; West Siloam Springs - Elaine Carr; Woodward - Alan Riffel;

Because of Covid-19 guidelines, the induction ceremony will be limited to a smaller gathering than in the past, therefore attendance preference will be given to inductees, guests and family, past inductees, and the sponsoring organizations.

For More Information:

Deborah Miner-Gonzales, Secretary Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials Foundation 308 NE 27th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73105 Phone 405-528-7564 ext. 1 *deborah@okmainc.com*