For Release after 7:00 p.m. Saturday, August 12, 2023

CONTACT: Deborah Miner-Gonzales Office: 405-528-7564 ext 1; deborah@meso.org

Four Officials Selected for 2023 Induction into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials

Four officials representing a wide range of experiences will be inducted September 21 into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials. The black-tie optional hall of fame induction ceremony will be at the Oklahoma City Convention Center – Oklahoma City in conjunction with the Annual Conference Banquet for the Oklahoma Municipal League.

They will become the 79th - 82nd inductees into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame since 2001.

Those to be inducted this year were recently announced by the Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials Foundation, which is supported by eight organizations of Oklahoma municipal government officials or service organizations.

Those to be inducted on September 21 are:

- Patty Dixon, Sand Springs
- Larry Stevens, Edmond
- William (Bill) Tackett, Prague
- Jonathan Woods, Edmond (posthumous)

Formed in 1999, the Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials Foundation recognizes individuals for outstanding achievements or contributions to city and town government. To be selected, an honoree must make significant contributions to Oklahoma local government, through their positive spirit of public service, with unquestioned ethics.

The website <u>www.okcityandtownofficials.org</u> highlights the careers of each inductee in the past 22 years. Visitors to the website are able to navigate through biographies, video and photo features about each inductee.

The Oklahoma Hall of Fame Foundation is supported by the Oklahoma Municipal League, The Mayors Council of Oklahoma, the City Management Association of Oklahoma, the Municipal Electric Systems of Oklahoma Inc., the Oklahoma Municipal Assurance Group, the Oklahoma Municipal Retirement Fund, the Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority and the Oklahoma Municipal Clerks, Treasurers and Finance Officials Association.

The 78 past inductees based on their residence when inducted include:

Ada – Charles E. Spencer; Bixby - Joe Williams; Braman – Jerry Johnston; Broken Arrow - James C. Reynolds; Chickasha – Robert J. Hicks; Choctaw - Randall Ross: Clinton – Glendenne Goucher: Collinsville - Pam Polk: Duncan - Eugene Brown; Edmond - Cindy Shattuck, Don Bown, Charles Lamb, William A. Moyer, Carl Reherman, Donald C. Rider, Kevin McCullough; Drake Rice; Charles (Chuck) Smith; and Bob Ponkilla; El Reno – Tony Rivera; Matt White; Frederick – Robert B. Johnston and Wanda Jo Evaige: Guymon – Jess Nelson; Hobart – Thomas Tallev: Jenks – Randy Ewing;

Mannford – Michael Nunneley;

Midwest City - Tommy Melton;

Norman – Anthony M. Francisco, David Morgan, PhD, and Larry J. Shelton;

Oklahoma City – James Couch, James G. Hamill, Patience Sewell Latting, Leon E. Nelson, Gary Marrs, Zach Taylor, Jr., Stephen E. Reel, Gerald Wilkins, Michael Crawford; and Mick Cornett;

Perry – Mary Rupp;

Piedmont – George Fina;

Ponca City – Gary D. Martin, Homer Nicholson, Marilyn Kay Andrews, Craig Stephenson and Mike Vanderburg; Phillip Johnston;

Poteau - Jeff Shockley; Prague - Harold Pumford; Pryor - Gary Pruett; Sand Springs – Mike Burdge; Mary Sue Overbey; Daniel Bradley; Santa Fe, NM – Shane Woolbright; Seminole - Edward Smith; Shawnee - Mary Ann Karns, Terry Powell and Bertha Ann Young; Stillwater - Ernest R. Dirks, Lawrence Lee Gish, Lawrence O. Hansen and Dan Galloway; Tahlequah – Michael Doublehead; The Village - Stanley Alexander; Tonkawa - John Ramey; Tulsa – Robert LaFortune, Susan Savage and David Weatherford; Walters – Albert Veltema; Watonga - Leroy Lage; Weatherford - Tony Davenport, George Wilkinson and Mike Brown; West Siloam Springs - Elaine Carr; Woodward - Alan Riffel; Yukon – James Crosby;

Tickets for the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and banquet are \$50 each available from the Oklahoma Municipal League by contacting Sarah at 405-528-7515 or by email to <u>sarah@oml.org</u>.

For More Information:

Deborah Miner-Gonzales, Secretary Oklahoma Hall of Fame for City and Town Officials Foundation 308 NE 27th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73105 Phone 405-528-7564 ext. 1 <u>deborah@meso.org</u>